Posted by: Nven | February 1, 2009

2008 in Review

After knitting/crocheting on and off since the age of about 9 I picked it up again in 2007 to make xmas gifts for a few close friends and my mom. I’ve been doing it pretty steadly since. You might go so far as to say I’m addicted. I get really fidgety now if I’m sitting and my hands aren’t doing something. And then someong introduced me to craft swaps and the crafty addiction got worse. The artistic family background came roaring to the foreground and I found myself wanting to make everything. After a year of mostly scarves and mittens, in 2008 I tried to broaden my crafty horizons.

Both “God Save the Queeens” were a crash course in colourwork (intarsia), both of which I’m very proud. The look on thier recipeits faces were completely worth it too.

I knit my self a top down raglan, my first (and so far only) sweater. It taught me not to hate circular needles, which made the multitude of hats a legwarmers knit for gifts this year a breeze. Which in turn showed me that cable knitting isn’t as scary as it looks.

Over the summer I begged my mother for the sewing machine she wasn’t using and made my bridesmaids dress for a friend’s wedding out of the shinniest blue fabric I could find and a patern called a one seam dress (no longer the case when a circle shirt becomes an a-line) or an infinity dress I found online. Considering my sewing expericnece so far has been pretty basic (hems mostly) and the sewing machine and I had communication problems (what do you mean you don’t want to pick up the left side of the zig zag stitch?!) I think it came out pretty well, with more than one lesson learned.

My first afghan was knit for my mom to celebrate our shared love of tetris. I figure after the numerous frustrated phone calls from me where she magically managed to talk me through patterns she’d never seen she deserved it. I started it in June to make sure it was done in time. Remembering how to make granny squares was just like riding a bike. Tie in all those little ends was a test of patience. From now on they’ll be tied in as I go.

When I’m out of larger projects amigurmi have been nic, short and satisfying projects, which help to thin out the enourmous stash of unlabled yarn I inherited from my mother and grandmother ages ago.

The plan for 2009? I should conqure my fear of seaming, part of the reason I haven’t attempted more sweaters. And I’ve been meaning to figure out double knitting for a while. I’d also like to learn to spin my own yarn sometime. Maybe knit more prezzies for me. I’ve knit almost exclusively for others so far and after this last year’s holiday knit marathon I’m serioiusly considering skipping it this year. But we’ll see just how long I stick to that one ;p

Leave a Reply

Categories

